Overwhelmed…In A Good Way

Normally when someone says they’re overwhelmed, it’s a bad thing. In my life, anyways, that stands true.

But now I am completely overwhelmed in the most wonderful way.

I am overwhelmed by the love of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Not too long ago, I had the amazing opportunity to experience a divine service that was truly one of the most beautiful things I have ever experienced. We were in a beautiful, large chapel that seated over 1,000 people, and every pew was full of people praising their Lord. The crucifix was carried high over the people as everyone turned with it, and we sang “Lift High the Cross”, one of my favorite hymns, with the accompaniment of trumpets, timpani, and a beautiful organ. It was an amazing time. I felt as if I was being saved again, right then and there. I could feel my heart bursting with love and admiration for Jesus who was before me, hanging on the cross, dying for my sins and the world’s sins. Jesus, who experienced hell and total separation from God so we wouldn’t have to. Jesus, the love of my life.

I felt like crying, or shouting with joy, or jumping up and down, praising Jesus. I felt like the most loved person in the world. I knew that everything was going to be okay, and when I die, I have nothing to worry about, since Jesus is going to take me home, and what is more joyful than that? We can only experience joy through Jesus Christ alone.

I felt like I got a glimpse of heaven. Trumpets sounding, hundreds of voices praising Him, seeing Jesus up on that cross. Maybe I did, and maybe I didn’t; who knows. All I know is that heaven is going to exceed my expectations and be the most joyful place on earth where all of His believers will serve God (Revelation 22:3-5).

I have thought all week about being impressed by God. To the standards of this world, church isn’t impressive. I found out that that is not true at all. It was the most impressive thing I had ever seen or heard. The cross is the most impressive thing I can imagine. All that Jesus did, and suffered through, and said, was for me. Me! And also for you. And for all of the world. In that, we can surely rejoice.

1 thought on “Overwhelmed…In A Good Way

Leave a comment